PDA

View Full Version : Poll: Would you buy materials from a competitor?

DVS Hardscaper
08-19-2008, 11:06 PM
I can't figure this out.

Ok, as mentioned too many times, I have been doing hardscapes for 12 years now. And yes, over that course of time I have witnessed quite a bit.

And every so often an installation contractor gets this great idea to become a paver dealer. And usually....they don't make it past 2 years.

Well, now we have a contractor that is opening a store that sells hot tubs (the hot tub industry is DEAD right now), patio furniture, pavers, etc. OK, as a contractor, none of the other contractors respect him because he performs crappy work for dirt cheap.

Well now he's opening a store that is going to sell pavers!!!

No way in the world would I EVER buy anything from someone whom I am competing with. I will travel 40 miles out of my way before I ever do such.

Mike33
08-19-2008, 11:17 PM
I have one actually new in the business. He is now selling versa-lok which im not a big fan of. He also opened a nursery and has a very smart girl working it from a nursey who closed down last year. I buy plants from him but the real kicker is he sends me wall jobs. I have done 3 from him this year and dont even use his product. I would like to buy from him since he sends me work but has not giving me any crap for not buying his block. I of course do very little planting and send that his way. The shrubbery i bought from him was for my own home. So now is the time to buy a hot tub?
Mike

PlatinumLandCon
08-19-2008, 11:21 PM
If it was considerably cheaper and the guy went out of his way to make sure of ontime deliveries, in stock product, etc.... then yeah. Otherwise, no.

Summit L & D
08-19-2008, 11:26 PM