PDA

View Full Version : Any Advice for a new Part Time LCO?

mattxb
08-21-2008, 02:51 PM
Hey guys,

I have read a bunch of great information on here and have really begun to educate myself by doing so. And would like to get some advice from you guys on what I should do to make my Part Time LCO a success.

A little background:

I am a Project Manager for a Construction Company and love my job there, work is great, pay is great, people are great and benefits are great as well. So I am not looking to replace this job with a full time LCO business right now.

I just picked up a brand new Scag 36" WB with the Kawi V-Twin! I bought this for personal use after comparing the prices of the "John Deere's" at the local home improvement place and the Snappers at the local sales and service! :hammerhead: For only $500 more than the cheaply made residentuals, I got the SCAG!!! :clapping: And boy is it nice! :usflag:

Anyway, I love to keep my yard in tip top shape and get great satisfaction from looking at a freshly manicured lawn and bed that I did myself. So I thought, why not share this love and new equipment with others and at least pay myself back for the cost of my new mower. And with my Wife now being a stay at home Mom with our three kids, all under 4 years old, we sure could use any extra money that comes out of this as well.

What advice would you give to a guy in my situation, looking to make some good part time money?

Also,

Should I invest in the $65 book offered here on this site? Would it be worth the investment?

-Matt

All_Toro_4ME
08-21-2008, 03:08 PM
draft a business plan together, read as much as you possibly can, check into commercial insurance rates for your truck and a commercial policy for yourself to protect you in case your mower throws a rock at a kid or breaks a window. Theres a lot more to this business then just buying a commercial mower and saying I'm ready to start mowing. Think outside the box.

mattxb
08-21-2008, 03:20 PM
:drinkup: