PDA

View Full Version : Lawn Franchises - good or bad?

Zimbo
08-23-2008, 09:46 PM
Does anyone have any input on Lawn Franchises... Good/Bad?

mattfromNY
08-23-2008, 09:55 PM
Good if you can get/ retain good employees. Bad if not.
*I have no experience in franchises, but

mattfromNY
08-23-2008, 09:58 PM
... I accidently hit 'enter' and cut myself off.. I have two employees and know first hand that a business is only as good as its best employees. If you can build a franchise, secure the capital and necessary assets, labor, etc., you can probably be successful.
Just my 2 cents.
Matt.

Az Gardener
08-24-2008, 12:03 AM
I have been building a franchise model or the last 5-7 years. It solves the labor problem by providing a great hiring process. I would expect any good franchise to do the same. A good franchise will save you years of trial and error. The question is if you have the $$$ to purchase a franchise why are you looking at lawn care?

MileHigh
08-24-2008, 12:25 AM
I hate USlawns.

Even Cut Lawn Care
08-24-2008, 01:25 AM
I hate USlawns.

What is that based on? Have you dealt with them on some level? I subcontract to them and maintain Bank Of America properties for them. It works great for me.

Zimbo
08-24-2008, 11:42 AM
Yes, I was once in the business, and really enjoyed it... I am in a good position to start my own business and I am considering different options. I have done some research, and being able to jump into the lawn business, running is enticing to me, that is why I am considering buying a franchise. I have been in outside sales for over 7+ years, and I have alot of business contacts, so I am confident that I can quickly get new business. However I am very interest in hearing all the good and bad in regards to franchises, so that why I am posting this thread. I have heard alot of positive things from, of course the individual franchisees and management at the franchise. But have not heard that many valid bad reasons from outside sources.

JohnnyRoyale