PDA

View Full Version : sorry for the basic wiring question...

PaperCutter
08-28-2008, 09:51 PM
At the risk of taking a flogging... I'm reading everything I can on lighting, and these hub systems seem to be the most sensible way of doing large projects. But every place I've ever worked has refused to do it that way, and has mostly daisy-chained fixtures or done the T. Am I missing something? Do you guys tend to use the hubs, or no?

Some quick background- I'm a landscape designer and I'm just now getting back out and doing installs. I've been stuck in the office for a few years now, so I just bought a bunch of fixtures to relearn everything I've forgotten- the last fixture I personally installed was in '98. Obviously, a lot has changed since then, and a manufacturer's class here and there hasn't kept me up to speed. Don't beat me up too bad on the occasional stupid question, but then again, those kinds of beatings are what made me a decent designer.

Chris J
08-28-2008, 10:30 PM
There are a lot of guys here that use the hub method. I use all methods for each individual application, but I would say that I do T's more than anything. Get away from the daisy chain and stick to either hub or Ts. Actually, a T is nothing more than a hub with only two legs, but as long as you group your fixtures together there is no problem. I don't usually let the last fixture get more than about 25' from the T, and my voltage to my fixtures are always within a few 10ths of one another. I'll even daisy chain when the conditions are right. For instance two or three fixtures all within 10' of each other, the daisy chain is more than appropriate.

NightLightingFX
08-28-2008, 11:13 PM
I pretty much do the hub all the time. Sometimes I do the T. Chris has a point sometimes a little daisy chain may be alright. I should probably more open to an occasional small daisy chain in unique situations.
~Ned

Chris J
08-28-2008, 11:19 PM