PDA

View Full Version : Help on fuselade

Maxine Smith
09-01-2008, 08:40 PM
Hi There all,
I really would appreciate some advice concerning Fuselade. I've never used or had to use this before. I have a large garden. 5 acres. Have always been a keen gardener and had the garden on display but in recent years have had to nurse my mum.. lost her and younger brother lost him too. The garden kind of went by the wayside. Grass in it galore. too much to hand weed and glyphostae is an option in some areas but I have so many ornamentals I have to be careful. Could someone tell me if fuselade is safe to use around ornamentals and if not which ones. I'm guessing being a selective herbicide for grasses that it could knock out ornamental grasses as well. This doesn't particularly bother me but are other ornamentals also sensitive to it.
Thankyou for your time. I really need to get my garden back in shape again. Been too long.
Thanks Maxine

LushGreenLawn
09-01-2008, 08:59 PM
Yes, it can kill ornamentals. There is nothing that I know of that you can spray that will kill weeds but not ornamentals. I use roundup all the time, of course not sprayting directly on the shrub. It is not taken up by the roots, so as long as you don't get any on the leaves of the desirable (You can even get a little on the woody stem and its ok) you will be fine. The only reason I would use fusilade is if you are targeting Bermudagrass (Wiregrass), and even then I would mix it with round-up.

RigglePLC
09-01-2008, 09:18 PM
Try Ortho Grass-b-gone. Over the top grass killer
http://www2.yardiac.com/long.asp?item_id=196

Ingredients fluaziflop or something like that. Also see:
http://www.helpfulgardener.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=27554

Red the label and directions carefully. You should be able to kill grass over the top of most ornamentals, (except grass). Works slow.

Maxine Smith
09-01-2008, 09:36 PM