PDA

View Full Version : Going legit

CTmower
09-03-2008, 11:42 AM
I know what some will say but at what point is it worth going legit????
Ive been doing this PT for about 4 years now and have 15 lawns right now. Next year im adventuring out and gonna try and make it a full time gig which will include residential and commercial. I have one Condo unit where a family friend lives that wants me to bid. The only problem is you need to be licensed and insured to do the work. I have my Liability insurence but im just debating if its worth it at this point to go legit and start paying taxes and what not on the income from this part time gig.

PROCUT1
09-03-2008, 12:44 PM
Im willing to bet the majority of this board are operating the same way

CTmower
09-03-2008, 12:52 PM
I was pretty much just looking for the steps needs to make your business legit and guess i should have asked it that way....

Obv step 1 is to be fully insured, but im a little hazey on the neck steps..
Do i go to my town hall and register my business which will then make me legit?? Where do i get my federal tax id number from, etc???

A simple step by step explanation is all im looking for.......

westsweeper4
09-03-2008, 01:28 PM
So basically you come on here say your business is illegal and you want the rest of us to tell you what to do. Hmm that makes sense:hammerhead:

mattxb
09-03-2008, 01:34 PM
Go get a FEIN, search it on google. Then go to your local Business License office and ask for details on how to register your business.

Thats the easy part, running an actual business like a business is the part your gonna struggle with.

punt66
09-03-2008, 02:38 PM
OK since your in CT i can tell you what you need.

1. You actually do not a FEIN (Federal Emplyer Identification Number) # unless you have employees.