PDA

View Full Version : Calling all firefighters

stevenf
09-07-2008, 11:34 PM
Some of you might remember my earlier thread about firefighting but the rookie class is just around the corner and I really need to decide.
I like the idea of being a firefighter, I also like doing my own thing like lawn care. A Friend of mine is a firefighter who just finished training and is currently at $25k a year.
Realistically, a person cant support a family on that I know. I have been doing lawn care for about 3 years now and the firemen schedual will allow me to continue it.
How much do you depend on your lawn care? Is it a seasonal thing for you or do you try for it year round? Do you pull in an extra $10-$15k a year just to live comfortably?
My MAIN reason for choosing firefighter are to have benfits and a great schedual with early retirement.

KCfireman
09-07-2008, 11:41 PM
Some of you might remember my earlier thread about firefighting but the rookie class is just around the corner and I really need to decide.
I like the idea of being a firefighter, I also like doing my own thing like lawn care. A Friend of mine is a firefighter who just finished training and is currently at $25k a year.
Realistically, a person cant support a family on that I know. I have been doing lawn care for about 3 years now and the firemen schedual will allow me to continue it.
How much do you depend on your lawn care? Is it a seasonal thing for you or do you try for it year round? Do you pull in an extra $10-$15k a year just to live comfortably?
My MAIN reason for choosing firefighter are to have benfits and a great schedual with early retirement.i plan on working in the back of an Ambo while im off. I've got to get my paramedics license first.

stevenf
09-07-2008, 11:53 PM