PDA

View Full Version : Need Overseeding Advise

TC Lawns
09-15-2008, 11:27 PM
One of my customers wants to me do an overseeding job on his yard. I have never done it before, so I am looking for some information and some tips on the best way to do it.

He has Bermuda right now, it looks great, but he wants to have another type of grass overseeded that would stay green in the winter. He entertains people in his backyard for football game days so it would need to be able to stand up to high traffic. The location is Alabama, so it stays pretty warm here untill late in the fall. There is a good bit of shade in the afternoons. Someone said that Kentucky Bluegrass would do good. Would this be something that would work for this type of situation? I know here at the University, they have 2 types of grasses planted in the same area, in the summer, the bermuda is there, and when it dies in the winter, the other grass stays green, not sure what it is though.

Please let me know your recommendations on what type of grass to overseed with, and what is the best meathod of doing it. Thanks

DA Quality Lawn & YS
09-16-2008, 12:17 AM
I have been asking about overseeding methods as well recently.

Many have hailed the virtues of using a slit overseeder as opposed to core aeration then broadcast seed. Hope that helps.

group501
09-16-2008, 08:04 AM
I am not really familiar with southern type grasses, but you might want to check the heat tolerant blue grasses (thermal blue, thermal blue blaze) also check the RTF grasses and PRG. Maybe a blend of all three might work?
I would advise to double aerate then slice seed using between 5-7# per k.