PDA

View Full Version : credit a account if no mowing is done due to weather

Cj's lawnservice
09-18-2008, 10:48 PM
I have been mowing for 8 yrs now and seems like the 09 season has been the worst due to the economy and everyone trying to save a penny or two. Does anyone credit a account if they do not mow due to weather. Ex. it rains for 3 days or 4 and is extremely wet for 2 days. i have had several customers requesting a credit. Does anyone have a stipulation in there contract due to weather conditions they can't get a refund??

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

traman
09-18-2008, 11:00 PM
do you charge by the cut or monthly?if its by the month do they pay you anymore on those months that have 5 cuts ??just tell them it all evens out through the course of the year.

sandman23
09-18-2008, 11:00 PM
It states in my "Terms" that we will not issue credits for missed service due to weather or homeowner scheduling conflicts (i.e. fert guys, tree guys, etc.). Depending on my mood and how much the account means to me, I may offer a credit. I really stress the fact that I provide a annual service with an annual price. My job is to take care of the property and keep it looking good. If they want to haggle over a missed service due to a weeks worth of rain, I probably don't want them as a customer anyway.

Green Pastures
09-18-2008, 11:01 PM
I tell my customers I bill for an average number of cuts for the area.

I've been in busisness for going on ten years now, and keep a tally of cuts per yard per season. I will ammend my contracts after the first year or so if need be.

In my experience a fescue lawn with irrigation will need an average of 42 cuts per season.

We do not give refunds for less cuts because we do not charge more for more cuts. It will balance out in the end. That's the beauty of a contract.

carcrz
09-18-2008, 11:03 PM