PDA

View Full Version : Kawasaki FH680V 23hp Valve Adjustment


jase4tiff
10-13-2008, 11:03 PM
Hello all can anyone tell me how to set the valves on this 23hp Kawasaki i read that it needs to be done every 300hrs and this one has 1100 and i doubt its ever been done. I just bought this mower and it has a "tick" at the valve covers i just figure they may need adjusting. RestorRob if you see this do these adjust the same as the 24hp Briggs engine you just helped me with? Also does anyone have a diagram that shows where the carb and choke linkages hook up to and the springs? I had a spring come off and i belive ive got it in the wrong place. This is on a John deere 657 any help would be appriciated it! Thanks!

Restrorob
10-13-2008, 11:25 PM
Here is the valve adjustment procedure;


http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m314/Restrorob/Kawasaki/FH/ALLFHSeriesValveAdjustment.jpg


If it's the larger governor spring here is that, Disregard the writing this was used in another thread.


http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m314/Restrorob/Kawasaki/FH/FH500VGovSpringPosition.jpg

jase4tiff
10-16-2008, 03:37 PM
Rob i fixed the spring and its in the right position now and i think i adjusted the valves correct...... I first adjusted right side then started the engine ran TERRIBLE so i pulled the cover back off adjusted again it got better i have pulled the valve cover 6 or so times and it seems like the "tick" is gone but the engine just doesnt run as good as it did before. I dont have a tach but i know forsure at full throttle that its not running 3600rpm or mabie 2700 if that. So i may have other issues showing up. I checked the govner it operates like it should and i can unhook the throttle cable and move the linkage by hand and it tachs up and sounds great but i when the cable is hooked up it just doesnt seem to get there. I just dont understand. I did have this motor apart and i put everything back like it was but the linkage seems to be the issue...

Restrorob
10-16-2008, 09:39 PM
You really need to have a tach to set the RPM's properly;

http://www.tinytach.com/tinytach/gasoline.php


Here is the procedure for setting the high speed RPM's;


http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m314/Restrorob/Kawasaki/FH/FHHighSpeedAdjustment.jpg2.jpg


Cya