PDA

View Full Version : Retaining Wall around Culverts

AKC Ranch
10-17-2008, 05:53 PM
Hello everyone,

I am new to this site but have read some threads and there is some great information here.

My question is I need to install a retaining wall around (2) 3' culverts and I am new to retaining wall construction. I want to make it look like a stone wall. (see attached) I thought about using conrete block with verneer stone, but then I heard about Redi-Rock. So I contacted Redi-rock and they gave me a bid of 10k not installed. I felt like that was high. I think I should probably hire someone to do this for me, becuase I would rather get it right the first time, but what should this cost to install. (the lights will not be there day 1). Also if you guys know of anyone in the North Texas area that does this kind of construction and you would recommend them, please let me know.

Thanks,

shovelracer
10-17-2008, 07:53 PM
It will cost a lot more than 10K.

Mike33
10-17-2008, 09:53 PM
I agree, thats a pretty big project.
mike

AKC Ranch
10-17-2008, 10:15 PM
The 10k was only the materials, they said that is will cost around 18k with labor. Is that about cost what I am looking at?

Summit L & D
10-17-2008, 10:31 PM
That sounds a little on the cheap side. Don't forget you will have some expense for the base material and the geo grid (if you choose to use it with the block)...I don't think that was included in the 10k you had quoted for materials. 8k for labor....that sounds like a base price, figure a little more.

stuvecorp
10-18-2008, 10:29 AM
Looks like a cool project. Just looking at it I would think it should be a little more money wise. Don't know where you are but what about Versa-Lok? It could be Weathered block or maybe their Mosaic block style?

PatriotLandscape
10-18-2008, 01:54 PM
your looking at at least a 60k project not seeing the sight condition and could be more like 90k when all is done.

PlatinumLandCon
10-18-2008, 08:54 PM