PDA

View Full Version : mowing price control

trophytkr
02-11-2002, 03:29 AM
I have been reading steadily all the threads i can find on lawn pricing. Ok I'm a new guy and this is what I found out so far from both you guys and a local lawn care guy. I found out that in our area the going rate per hour for mowing is 47.50. I'm just starting out and certainly don't know all the ins and outs of lawn care. Speed that you work at must play a big role on the average hourly rate. Should i charge so much per 1000 feet mowed? And if i do how much do you think it should be based on the 47.50 rate? My equipment starting out are a 21 hp white garden tractor and a 21 hp white ztr tractor both with 46 in decks if that maters in the equation. Your guys input as alway is much appriciated! Thanks:blush:

trophytkr
02-11-2002, 03:33 AM
I thing my minimal price for each stop should be $25.00 to cover going to address and loading and off loading equipment. So if i mow a mall yard say 2500 square feet the fee would be $25.00 even thou I mowed less than $25.00 worth of lawn. (hope that made sence) :blush:

augs dad
02-11-2002, 07:22 AM
I'm a new guy too....based on what I've learned from this forum and in talking with guys locally, is that $35 is about as low as I'll go for a single property. I just paid $15 for a 15 minute haircut. She has her salary, insurance and maintenance costs....and so do you. WISC and PA probably have a similar cost of living. I'm not in a metro area like Phila or Pittsburgh. Hope this helps.

Gary in Central PA

LawnLad
02-11-2002, 10:55 AM
Any time you bid a job, you need to understand your costs. With the help of a spread sheet, you can make your life pretty easy and you'll gain a good idea as to what it will cost to operate your mowing crew and what you'll need to charge.