PDA

View Full Version : Interlock driveway

"Ground Control"
10-21-2008, 06:14 PM
The other day I got a call from a customer that I have done a lot of work for in the past. He is doing an addition on his house and wants a paver driveway. (He also wants an outdoor kitchen w/ built in bbq and bar with granite top and fire pit but that will wait till next spring). The existing garage will be turned in to living space and the new 3 car garage is being built now. The driveway will be about 80' long and the garage is 38'6" wide. I have never done a driveway before and have a couple questions...

Originally, i was just going to do the landscaping and the outdoor kitchen but i talked him into a paver driveway - gave him my little talk about concrete and how there is 1 sure thing about it - it cracks.

A couple questions I have:

It looks like this lot was filled. Any ideas how deep I will need to excavate to find a suitable base? Will a 10" base be sufficient?

Im going to an ICPI class in a couple months, hopefully I can do this job after I return from that.

Thanks for any help guys.

flairland
10-21-2008, 08:26 PM
Holy the existing driveway is steep!!!! You've gotta get snow in Montana right? I can't imagine they'd be able to drive up that with any amount of snow on it!

Anyways, you need a min of a 10" base on ANY driveway.. if it was recently filled, you're gonna need one heavy compactor, and probbably a good 12-14" base.

cudaclan
10-21-2008, 09:21 PM
Holy the existing driveway is steep!!!! You've gotta get snow in Montana right? I can't imagine they'd be able to drive up that with any amount of snow on it!...

And think of all the fun the kids will have sledding.

"Ground Control"
10-21-2008, 09:40 PM