PDA

View Full Version : new to the business

nubbie
02-11-2002, 09:17 PM
I am new to the business. I worked for a landscaping/construction company but all I did was the bull work I was wondering if anyone could tell me where to get the best an latest info on estimating costs of jobs and time.
EX: books, reference material, etc....

Any help would be greatly appreciated:blob3:

heygrassman
02-11-2002, 09:42 PM
Site Work and Landscape Cost Data 2001 20th Edition
by RS Means

$90 on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/087629588X/qid=1013478097/sr=1-1/ref=sr_1_1/103-3054966-9148624

Everything you can imagine and more, except cutting grass and trimming.

nubbie
02-11-2002, 11:13 PM
Thank you for the insight I bought the book already(got a good deal on a used one) Just in case my last message was a littla vague I am starting a landscaping business. So I need info on everything on lawn maintence costs to commercial bidding. I hope this book will help. Any other suggestions are greatly accepted. What about Nilsson's?

heygrassman
02-12-2002, 12:42 AM
Good Luck. If you find a good one please share. I think there are a few of us that could benefit from that..

jf

LawnLad
02-12-2002, 10:26 AM
Pricing for the Green Industry by Frank Ross. I think you can get it through ALCA.

Nilsson's stuff is okay, but I didn't find it very helpful. He is the moderator on the Lawn & Landscape Message Board. You might ask what books he might recommend. I think they have a return policy if it isn't what you're looking for.

nubbie
02-12-2002, 01:12 PM
What is the ALCA? Will it help me with setting up how much to charge for services? The biggest problem I am experiencing is the fact I do not know how much to charge for different services. Is there a book that has an industry standard or average?

LawnLad
02-12-2002, 04:29 PM
ALCA stands for Associated Landscape Contractors of America. Check them out at www.alca.org

Also, just posted about pricing on the following thread: