PDA

View Full Version : How necessary is a logo?

born2farm
10-26-2008, 10:50 AM
Looking ahead to advertising next year and still being in high school I'm trying to get my name out there but cant afford to spend a lot of money. I have tried designing my own logos but I dont like the way they turn out and dont give a professional look. My first idea was just to make a sign to put on the side of my trailer. It would just look something like this.

GOODMAN LAWN
AND LANDSCAPE
(419) 210-4***
LAWN MOWING, LAWN CLEANUPS,
LANDSCAPING AND SNOW PLOWING

This is just an idea and just wanted to get an opinion on if a logo is really needed.

DLAWNS
10-26-2008, 11:28 AM
I like the idea of a logo because it is yours and is unique. However if you are still in school and trying to save some money your idea is just fine.

Woody82986
10-26-2008, 11:48 AM
I've been toying around with getting a logo designed for a couple years. Just never pulled the trigger. I think that maybe an offseason aquisition for me. haha

NewHorizon's Land
10-27-2008, 10:05 AM
If you plan on staying in this for a long time get a logo ASAP. Use it on EVERYTHING. Shirts, trucks, business cards, letterhead, trailers, whatever you can put the logo do it. Get your truck lettered or a window decal even if its a small one. You need people to start seeing it and keep recoginizing the logo. Have it done professionally its not that much in the long run.

barefootlawnsandlandscape
10-27-2008, 10:29 AM
I agree with New Horizon. If you are building a business you need to brand your name. Get a logo and put it on everything, trucks, shirts, hats, hoodies, etc. You want people to see it over and over. If you have a good one they will remember it. Get a professional to do it. There is only so much you can do with Microsoft programs in the office package. When they see it in the yellowpages or online, they will remember the fact that they saw you in action.