PDA

View Full Version : Lawn that needs...something

GreenAcresLC
10-29-2008, 09:36 AM
A lady called yesterday about lawn aeration. I get there, measure out about 6000 sf. A large part of it has been a dog pen for about a year now, and is just dirt. Very hard dirt. Another part had a blow-up pool this summer, so it is hard and dead as well.

Do I need to aerate and powerseed? I've read a lot here the last few hours, and a few have talked about just aerating then broadcast seeding. I don't think this will be the way to go for me. When aerating, is it best to make two (or more) passes in an "x" pattern, or will one be enough? And with power seeding, does one pass do, or do you use the same "x" pattern? I apologize for the seemingly ignorant questions, I've never done either of these before and I want to get it right.

I have had one person tell me that he just powerseeds without aeration, because the knives of the seeder do enough aeration. Is this even close to right? I just don't want to make an @$$ out of my first aeration/seeding job. Thanks for any help!

Midstate Lawncare
10-29-2008, 11:26 AM
The dog pen area may need to be tilled a couple of inches deep, then lime applied (dog urine is very acidic), the pool area should be slit-seeded and aerated. I deal with this same situation alot. Remember starter fert... 13-13-13, 6-24-24, 18-24-9 somthing like that. PM me if you have any more questions.

Squirter
10-29-2008, 01:07 PM
i'd be interested in knowing if you're successful in getting seed to germinate this late in the year. i'm in indiana and it's too late here...what are you going to get in KY??? i suppose with some cooperation from mother nature (warmer temps), you might get some rye to come up. just a thought. i'm sure the homeowner would like to see some grass before the sloppy weather of winter/spring makes a big mud hole where the pool/dog pen was located. just seems kinda late to get any results.