PDA

View Full Version : organic fertilization program?

DLAWNS
11-25-2008, 12:10 AM
I just got a call from a board president of a 360 home association and they want a organic fertilization program. I have no experience in this and was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction. Programs, vendors, and information to that effect. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

ICT Bill
11-25-2008, 09:55 AM
Dlawns, very interesting. We have been (tech terra and ICT) touring many counties and businesses in NJ over the last 2 weeks. We have heard the same thing over and over again. "we have to use better practices in taking care of our sites, show us your organic program"

New Jersey has recently passed legislation to use IPM practices at all times (its a little more complicated than that), I do believe this has raised awareness across the board to using practices that do not leech or poison.

Barry and I did a comparison "bridge" or "organic based" program vs typical fertilizers, it is a 6 app program with 1 pre-m application (if you want it, not mandatory) in the spring. typical bagged fert program runs (at Nov 1 pricing) just over $800.00 per acre per year, bridge program runs just over $300.00 per acre per year

The bridge program is meant to increase soil organic matter while raising and supporting beneficial microorganisms, the 2 basics to any organic program. it includes typical NPK but at much lower inputs

the program includes a granular application spring and fall (at roughly $90.00 per acre, each app) and 4 applications of our compost tea at $30.00 per acre.