PDA

View Full Version : Buring grass on purpose?

tangofox1971
11-27-2008, 01:15 PM
I have done a search to no prevail. I have a guy who wants me to burn his grass. he says it will come back in the spring better. I have a propane burner wand i use for weeds in driveways and sidewalks etc. i have never done this before and dont know how to price this job. how much do you burn and how bad. What should it look like when properly burned? I am in arkansas all grasses are dormint now. Any advice would be helpful. thanks.

growingdeeprootsorganicly
11-27-2008, 01:49 PM
tang,

where is this yard? city? suburb? farm? how close to other houses?

i hear the burnt lawn look is in these days??????????

i would say if you burn the crowns/roots the grass might not recover come spring?

my opinion is the resulting char from the grass would benefit the soil but...
does he want to reseed come spring? or grow out the burnt existing grass?

that will give you the answer how much to burn?

maybe tree gal will post? she's has probably the most experience here with this subject?

treegal1
11-27-2008, 05:06 PM
if you olny burn the top and not the root its a great practice, no tillage to grow weeds with and all the stolons or corms are safely tucked in the nice cool fire proof soil, and all the K stays just in the area you burn, we use this practice on several different types of fodder and ornamental grass, the 3 top performers are sedan grass(animal feed) empire sod(lawn) and muhly grass( native ornamental ). just light a fire and 3 weeks later its always better and naturally the best looking grass around. Bahia and some zoysia has also been burned on my watch, they do fine, maybe even better if burned. black plastic to fry the tops for a day and the 3 days to dry then its light them up

******also just get a burn permit they are like 20$ and save 1000$$$ in fines!!!!!!******

treegal1
11-27-2008, 05:15 PM
there are more in the other posts...............

4.3mudder
11-27-2008, 07:04 PM