PDA

View Full Version : I finally blew a gasket!!!!!!!

SpruceLandscape
12-17-2008, 07:32 PM
:realmad: Sorry guys, but I just had to vent!

This is my first year advertising in the phone book. I signed up for two different ads in two different sections in this latest phone book that just came out in the last week. I put down a deposit in Jan. of 08 of $461 with the remaining balance of $1843 to be paid in twelve monthly installments througout the year. Sent in my first payment of $154 two weeks ago.
Phone book just came out, and guess what...

THEY USED SOME GENERIC CRAPPY AD INSTEAD OF THE ONES I SENT THEM THAT WERE MADE UP BY A PROFESSIONAL AD COMPANY!!!

And to boot.. They screwed the ads all up! The snow plowing ad doesn't even mention thats its for snow plowing or salt! Just says 24 hours service and then my phone number and name! The other ad shows endorsements that I don't even have!!!
Then, to top it all off, on top of having to spend an extra $200-$250 on extra advertising in the newspapers now that won't even reach half of the circulation the phone book does, their solution to the problem was to offer me only 15% off of the contracted amount! :hammerhead:
Imagine telling one of your customers that after you planted the wrong type of tree, and then justifying it by saying, "well, at least its a tree, so we'll knock off 15%... "
I have a feeling we will be in front of a Judge on this one...

Albery's Lawn & Tractor
12-17-2008, 07:55 PM
don't pay them ****. tell them you will gladly go to court. Threaten them that if they make a blemish on your credit for their mistake you will sue the crap out of them. This is why i don't use yellow pages.

CALandscapes
12-17-2008, 07:59 PM
The name of my business is Curb Appeal Landscapes.

The yellowpages ad says "Curb Appeal Landscaping"

I won't pay money for an ad with them again.

IN2MOWN
12-17-2008, 08:48 PM
Didnt you get a copy of the ad to proof read?