PDA

View Full Version : Skid coverage quality vs Backpack - sell me

DA Quality Lawn & YS
12-23-2008, 12:22 PM
I have been hearing from some that a skid set up is the only way to get started in squirts. The quality outcome is so much better than if I were to use a backpack (on small 1/4 acre lots only, not larger lawns). Can someone sell me on this, even though I am not experienced, I'm not sold. If a guy is thorough with a backpack, seems to me that he would do an equally good job as if he used a skid set up. I am not talking efficiency here, I realize the time savings with a skid. I am talking purely in terms of quality only.

tlg
12-23-2008, 01:16 PM
A backpack sprayer was never intended to take the place of a good quality spray rig. Backpacks are great for small spot treatments. Treating anything that requires a blanket of coverage over a large area needs a well calibrated consist ant output of pesticide for adequate control. I can guarantee you that output and coverage are going to be a lot better with a spray rig than a backpack sprayer. There is also the loading and mixing problem. Most backpacks will only hold three to four gallons of solution.... not a lot for most instances. Constantly filling a backpack in the middle of an application is well ... just ridiculous. Quality is only as good as the equipment and the operator doing the application. Can you do a blanket application on a 1/4 acre lawn with a backpack? Sure you can. You can also dig a ditch with a spoon. Your equipment needs to fit the job! Lose the mindset that will limit your ability to succeed.

DA Quality Lawn & YS
12-23-2008, 02:04 PM