PDA

View Full Version : Roots left behind from previous bushes?

JShe8918
01-01-2009, 05:26 PM
Hey i am new to the whole landscaping side of things or maybe i should say landscape prep. side. A customer contacts me and ask me if i could remove some shrubs from her yard for her. Of course i say yes and rent a track skid steer. Well i get over to her house and i walk around marking all the bushes to be pulled. We removed all of the bushes from one side of the house with ease... The next side is rooted in red clay. Well needless to say they just broke off and left the roots and rootball in the ground. I removed the rootball but what should i do with the rest of the roots.. Can i just till over them or will the bushes sprout from those again? What is your recomendations for future situations? Thanx for any and all the help.

White Gardens
01-01-2009, 05:38 PM
Hey i am new to the whole landscaping side of things or maybe i should say landscape prep. side. A customer contacts me and ask me if i could remove some shrubs from her yard for her. Of course i say yes and rent a track skid steer. Well i get over to her house and i walk around marking all the bushes to be pulled. We removed all of the bushes from one side of the house with ease... The next side is rooted in red clay. Well needless to say they just broke off and left the roots and rootball in the ground. I removed the rootball but what should i do with the rest of the roots.. Can i just till over them or will the bushes sprout from those again? What is your recomendations for future situations? Thanx for any and all the help.

Generally I've found that if you get the Apical Stem (main root ball) then 90% of the time no new sprouts will come back.

Next time, take the bucket of the skid steer and try to "pop" the soil around the shrub so the root ball comes out easier, that's if you have room.

What kind of shrubs and bushes were they??

Smallaxe
01-01-2009, 06:03 PM