PDA

View Full Version : Hits on google and yahoo!


Penscape Landscaping
01-07-2009, 09:07 AM
how do i get in the top 10 of google or yahoo if typed in (lawn service near______)? Need help with this! Please help!

Kiril
01-07-2009, 11:24 AM
http://www.webanalyticsworld.net/2007/10/ultimate-local-search-optimization.html

Woody82986
01-07-2009, 03:50 PM
Make sure you have the correct keywords embedded in your text. That's all I did and I am in the top 10 for almost every search result I want on yahoo and google.

Penscape Landscaping
01-07-2009, 10:00 PM
thanks woody i went in to my page properties and added a ton of key words and locations so i hope it will work! How long did it take to see results? Im not even in the top 100.

JDUtah
01-07-2009, 10:36 PM
thanks woody i went in to my page properties and added a ton of key words and locations so i hope it will work! How long did it take to see results? Im not even in the top 100.

It can take 30-90 days for a search engine to crawl and reindex your site...

Spend time reading what Kiril linked. It is GOOD stuff.

Woody82986
01-08-2009, 06:49 PM
I agree. It could take a month or two before you see any noticeable difference in rankings.

Team-Green L&L
01-08-2009, 08:51 PM
Googlebots crawl every 40-70 days (there is a debate on the exact amount of time and they keep quiet). You can study free SEO materials on SEOMOZ.org or on TopRankTactics.com. Good luck and I hope you have time because content (copywrite) and backlinks are both hard to get and both are what you want.

Flow Control
01-08-2009, 09:34 PM
http://www.webanalyticsworld.net/2007/10/ultimate-local-search-optimization.html

Thanks Kiril

JDUtah
01-08-2009, 10:22 PM
Googlebots crawl every 40-70 days (there is a debate on the exact amount of time and they keep quiet). You can study free SEO materials on SEOMOZ.org or on TopRankTactics.com. Good luck and I hope you have time because content (copywrite) and backlinks are both hard to get and both are what you want.

What do you mean by "content (copywrite)"?

Kiril
01-09-2009, 01:09 AM
Googlebots crawl every 40-70 days (there is a debate on the exact amount of time and they keep quiet).

I think that depends on the site. I have posted stuff on this site, just to find it on google less than an hour later. Perhaps chance, perhaps not.

ritchiem
01-09-2009, 01:24 AM
you can have search engines crawl your site every hour. Search engines want content and if your site is constantly adding new content on a daily/hourly basis you'll get picked up right away.

As for pages that do not change for months at a time...good luck on getting your new content added right away...better use the site submission tools.

Search engine algorithms are extremely complex, however if you have a general idea on how they work...you can have great results.

TPnTX
01-15-2009, 03:45 PM
Make sure you have the correct keywords embedded in your text. That's all I did and I am in the top 10 for almost every search result I want on yahoo and google.

Woody when you say embedded in your text, do you mean what is visible? For example you've got all the local towns you cover in the right hand column and you list other things on the home page. Or do you also hide text. I am reading on this stuff as fast as I can but i do have questions.

I was looking at the title, description and keyword properties. It is mentioned that these also need to be contained in your website text.

So it seems to me that if you want to design your webpage and keeping the layout as you like. You could then create a text object listing whatever words you want and then one way or another hide it in a effort not to junk up your design. For example you could shrink it as much as possible and make it the same color as the background. There a dozens of ways I guess.

Maybe there is a more proper way to achieve the same results?

JDUtah
01-15-2009, 04:19 PM
A "terms of service" looking paragraph at the bottom of the page or Hidden divs that can be opened/closed from the same page.

Google and other search engines frown on cheating and you can be kicked off their index if you get caught doing it. We had a local competitor that had white text on white background. We reported him. He doesn't have it there anymore.

You don't need to be turned in to get caught. Their bots can catch most shortcuts themselves.

Kiril
01-15-2009, 04:23 PM
Maybe there is a more proper way to achieve the same results?

attributes & articles

TPnTX
01-15-2009, 04:45 PM
oh okay thanks. I'm not trying to cheat so I'm glad I asked.

I can see how maybe an extreme example of that could be to the detriment of a search engine. But 200 characters for example would be some fairly benign cheating. So it is just the principle. You reported your competition? Please explain because that seems so lame. Not looking for an argument just an explanation. Im just asking, you owe no one. I'm hoping that I'm not looking at it the same way you are.



thanks kiril I'll look there

JDUtah
01-15-2009, 04:58 PM
Lol, It was a local guy (well company). They listed the cities they covered in this hidden area. They were cheating to get a better place in local searches. I am all game for friendly competition, but keep it within the rules.

I did nothing wrong as search engines have a place to report such behavior. They encourage people to report it. It is wrong and search engines want to know about it.

Cheating is cheating.

Why be lazy and cheat even if it is just a few characters when you can be creative and accomplish the same thing while still maintaining your honor and integrity? There is no reason to cheat. Rules only make things more intriguing/challenging. If you find yourself saying "but it is just a little" you need to get off your lazy butt and come up with something better, that works with the rules.

Business is about innovation, not cutting corners.

If that company gets mad at me for helping them follow the rules, they need a few lessons in responsibility. And they need to quit being lazy.

Not to poke, just get you thinking...
Are you going to cheat your customers, vendors, and employees out of 'benign' things as well?

Little or big, it is not good business.

JDUtah
01-15-2009, 05:11 PM
Mods,
Please delete this repeat post.
Thanks

DUSTYCEDAR
01-15-2009, 05:35 PM
DO LINKS KEEP YOU UP?
like if i write for the paper and then link it to my site?

mdvaden
01-15-2009, 08:26 PM
If you are in a small city, give it a shot.

If a big city - don't spin your wheels trying for number one if there are a ton of companies with websites.

Kiril
01-16-2009, 12:08 AM
I did nothing wrong as search engines have a place to report such behavior. They encourage people to report it. It is wrong and search engines want to know about it.

Let us give a rousing round of applause for Big Brother. :rolleyes:

http://www.lawnsite.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=105500&d=1207538135

Kiril
01-16-2009, 12:10 AM
DO LINKS KEEP YOU UP?
like if i write for the paper and then link it to my site?

Don't understand the question. Do you mean will links to your site help your google rating? Yes they will.

DUSTYCEDAR
01-16-2009, 10:32 AM
THANKS thats what i ment

TPnTX
01-16-2009, 10:43 AM
Kiril, if you don't mind, could you put "attributes & articles" in context.

Kiril
01-16-2009, 10:58 AM
Kiril, if you don't mind, could you put "attributes & articles" in context.

Attributes as in HTML attributes (alt, title, summary, etc...)

http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/index/attributes.html

Articles as in fresh content that contains information that is applicable to the services you offer.
Ideally you want to incorporate key words into that content.

TPnTX
01-16-2009, 11:39 AM
thanks, Simply googleing those take you many directions.

TPnTX
01-16-2009, 12:33 PM
Can someone tell me exactly where the circled description come from? I don't see in my webpage or any place on my web hosting setup.

Is it perhaps old and any recent changes are there yet?

Kiril
01-16-2009, 12:39 PM
Google stores your site, so it probably is an old version. When is the site noted as last being updated?

TPnTX
01-16-2009, 01:06 PM
From my end as late as yesterday.

If you mean noted from Googles latest version Im not sure.

Kiril
01-16-2009, 01:10 PM
If you mean noted from Googles latest version Im not sure.

http://209.85.173.132/search?q=cache:JqWhEqxT4JoJ:www.pennylandscape.com/+http://www.pennylandscape.com/

JDUtah
01-16-2009, 01:12 PM
That looks like it is in Google local business listings... which is a little different than their website index. They will let you customize it. I think you can change the title there? Just click more (in your pic it is "directions and more >>")... then click add or edit your business... go from there.

Good luck!

TPnTX
01-16-2009, 03:54 PM
yep that was it JD, thanks. I had forgotten all about that. Its actually part of google maps.

BTW I have found some excellent reading on google support. It touches all this including the parts about hiding stuff and why you shouldn't do it.

Lawn-Scapes
01-16-2009, 04:55 PM
On the topic of hiding stuff.. Are the zip codes on my services page considered hidden? Legal or no...?

This is on the page source yet doesn't show on the web..

<p class="desc">Zip codes: 21784, 21048, 21074, 21757, 21764, 21102, 21104, 21771, 21776, 21136, 21784, 21787, 21791, 21155, 21157, 21158, 21797
</p>

JDUtah
01-16-2009, 05:41 PM
On the topic of hiding stuff.. Are the zip codes on my services page considered hidden? Legal or no...?

This is on the page source yet doesn't show on the web..

<p class="desc">Zip codes: 21784, 21048, 21074, 21757, 21764, 21102, 21104, 21771, 21776, 21136, 21784, 21787, 21791, 21155, 21157, 21158, 21797
</p>

I would say yes because you do not have a way for the user to see the P. I don't even know if Google recognizes it? You can solve that problem with JavaScript. Kiril probably has a better way but here is my suggestion.

Change the <p class="desc"></P> to
<div class="fakelink" style="display:none;"></div>

In your CCS file copy your link attributes(A) to the following
.fakelink{}
.fakelink:hover{}
.fakelink:active{}
.fakelink:visited{}

Now copy this code where you would want a "Zip code" link on that same page...

<a onmouseover="this.style.cursor='pointer';" onclick="document.getElementById('desc').style.display=(document.getElementById('desc').style.display== 'block')?'none':'block';">Zip Codes</a>

Then just make sure your hidden div is in the code where you want the list to show up.

That's it.

When "Zip Codes" is clicked it will toggle show/hide the div.

I do not want to post my test site here but if you want I can PM it to you so you can take a look.

JDUtah
01-16-2009, 07:29 PM
oops I forgot a part...

for your hidden div put this instead

<div id="desc" class="fakelink" style="display:none;"></div>

BTW YW TPnTX

Kiril
01-16-2009, 10:49 PM
Kiril probably has a better way but here is my suggestion.

There are several ways to do this, but the easiest IMHO is with CSS only. No need for the JS.
I'll leave the how as an exercise for you JD.

JDUtah
01-16-2009, 11:19 PM
Removing the JavaScript would be a good thing. I will look into it. Fun little challenge.

I'll leave the how as an exercise for you JD.

btw, lol

Kiril
01-17-2009, 11:48 AM
Yo JD, how is the CSS exercise going?

JDUtah
01-17-2009, 12:53 PM
I will get it done today. I am running to my nieces B-Day party now. I should have done it while checking on you and Rod last night. :laugh:

But I guess I could give something... http://www.tjkdesign.com/articles/css%20pop%20ups/1.asp Not it yet but getting closer I think.

Kiril
01-17-2009, 02:23 PM
I would go here for your "tutorial"

http://meyerweb.com/eric/css/edge/

JDUtah
01-17-2009, 10:23 PM
That's pretty cool. But I have a question. Maybe I am not seeing it but it seems to only work on hover? Is their a way to toggle the view when someone clicks a link?

I would prefer to use a click instead of hover...