PDA

View Full Version : Basic retaining wall help please....

Grimace
01-09-2009, 01:05 PM
Please bare with me as I have never done any hardscaping before.

I need to build a retaining wall to hold back about 2 feet of soil for an L shaped wall total length of about 70 feet. The house is in Bakersfield, CA so rain and frost are basically non existant, though the area behind the wall will be used as a planter with a drip system.

The plan was to use basic "cinder" block to save money, and in the future the wall could be veneered or stucco'ed. My main question focuses on the footer. Pouring a cement footer seems a bit expensive and over kill for a wall that will only be 3 courses high.

How deep should I trench, what type of material, and how deep should the footer be?

Thanks.

Grimace

OUTLANDER
01-24-2009, 03:23 PM
if you're using cinder blocks, thats different than a srw. Cinder block walls need mortar, and has to have a concrete footer, no matter how tall this wall is, or it will fail...(be sure to run drainage behind wall, and being it's gonna be a bed w/ drip system you should bring drain through wall also

pls8xx
01-24-2009, 05:29 PM
Even 2ft high cmu (cinder block) walls fail with time if they are not tied to the footer with rebar and the block voids filled with concrete.

If you want a stucco or stone veneer wall and you are a homeowner without block laying skill, then I suggest you consider poured concrete. When you compare a block wall's cost for block and the expense and trouble of filling the voids I think you will find that poured concrete requires less skill, is lower in total cost, and is a stronger wall.

While poured concrete does not need skilled work, it does require the knowledge of how to build adequate forms for the pour. There is a huge pressure exerted by the wet concrete and if the forms blow out it's a disaster.