PDA

View Full Version : question about backgrounds my site


JML
02-26-2002, 07:44 PM
When i started my web page a few years ago, I was pretty knowledgable about html and what not. I just starting messing around with my web site again, but i can't figure one thing out.. if you go to my site www.jmurray.com my background comes up, but I guess the background image itself isn't long enough so it ends. Then the image starts over again. Does anyone know how I can have it so it just comes up once and doesn't start over again where is stops.. thanks

joe

heygrassman
02-27-2002, 06:44 PM
If you are talking about the snow falling, I am not sure. The background looks fine to me. I like it a lot. Nice site..

jf

smburgess
03-02-2002, 07:42 PM
I see what you mean, you have a green border ont the left, then a black line that runs thru the words, another green border, then the background again.
It may have something to do with screen resolution? (mine is set at 1152/864).
I see the problem, but I don't know off-hand what to do about it! Sorry...

DaveK
04-05-2002, 10:31 PM
Your background is 800 pixels wide by 125 height.

The following image is 1280 wide by 125 high.

It looks like your original, but is much wider, so that it will not be repeated unless the users resolution is higher than 1280x1024, which is not likely.


http://www.readyforawebsite.com/example/image1.jpg

Right click and choose save as, to save it to your computer.

Even though it is nearly twice the size in appearance, it is only 9k vs. yours at 8k. I could have probably done a little more compression to make it even less than 8k, but the visual quality wouldn't be as good.


BTW, this is how this paragraph appears at 800x600 resolution (the most used resolution)

http://www.readyforawebsite.com/example/image2.jpg