PDA

View Full Version : Do You Believe

02-27-2002, 09:18 AM
Does anyone believe you can get 40 contract customers in a new area based soley on putting out 1,500 flyers and no word of mouth?

thelawnguy
02-27-2002, 10:02 AM
No.

I believe flyers are a waste of time and energy. The best way is to offer something to your present customers ie for referrals. You will get the most bang for your buck IMO.

MOW ED
02-27-2002, 10:03 AM
I believe that anything is possible dependant on a number of conditions. When I started, I put out about 500 flyers written in letter form stating I am a new business and I am offering personal service.
I got 15 accounts for weekly service from that round. It escalated the next year from word of mouth but you must be prepared for the PRICE SHOPPER. As a newbie I had lots of people bustin my hump to do work for lower than usual prices, not really knowing what I was doing, I took some of that work. It wasn't long before I came to regret the low price shoppers and had to get rid of these accounts.
If your conditions are right, anything is possible but know your costs and stick to your guns on price. Don't take lowball jobs just to get work. Good Luck

02-27-2002, 10:14 AM
I totally agree that word of mouth is what gets most of your business and could KILL most of your business if the quality is not there. But, if your in an area 450 miles from any grass you've ever cut for anyone you need something else. With that said, could a professional looking flyer, brochure in a population of 164,000 people bring you 40 accounts? Who do you all feel are the best target customers. I feel it's wdows, elderly, and middle class.

LawnLad
02-27-2002, 03:14 PM
Newbie... 164,000 residents translates to how many houses that are in your target market? Not all of those residents are qualified home owners (apartment dwellers, renters, etc) that would buy your services.