PDA

View Full Version : business newbie here

farmdawg23
02-27-2002, 11:32 PM
Hey guys.......little about myself. I was a victim of all the aviation layoffs due to the sept. 11th attacks. I was in Tulsa Oklahoma. I took all the money out of my 401k, and am now, in the process of starting a small lawncare company. I am now in Oregon though, and have a good feeling i will have a lot of questions for you guys. sure am glad to have found this site........thanks FD.

CS Lawns
02-27-2002, 11:36 PM
Welcome to the world of Lawn Care! There is a ton of info here so I will be the first to tell you to use the search engine before posting a question some of the guys here get testy when they have to repeat themselves. Good luck to you ! :blob3:

Tony Harrell
02-28-2002, 12:55 PM
I too am layed off from the effects of 911. I've been thinking about doing this for years and probably would never have ventured out without a significant push. I'm confident about my prospects and am in it for the long term so I've been doing a lot of investigating about the whole business. I'm sure there are things I haven't thought of and there will be obstacles, but the satisfaction of being on my own will be tremendous!

GarPA
02-28-2002, 05:03 PM
while i've "dug in the dirt" as a hobby for 20 years and also have a home turf and landscapaping that is the envy of my neighbors, (not braggin just fact)...doing it as a business is a whole other world..as these guys finally taught me , the SEARCH feature will keep you busy for weeks...and yes you will have to post a question occasionally and these 'been there done that' guys will be happy to help you..these guys and gals are great here.

forget about scag, exmark, echo, stihl, 'doubles', and all the other stuff here until you at least START the following: