PDA

View Full Version : What references do you use?

Slcareco
01-18-2009, 06:23 PM
Im new at this and was wondering after getting the clients criteria... what kind of resources do you use to come up with your design??

Like do you use a bunch of plant books to decide what plants to use? Cause I was thinking of making my own big binder of all the plants available to be with pics and full descripts from light conditions, flower color, to wild life attraction and stuff... waste of time ??

Do you look at unilock, nicolock and other mags for decision on pavers and such?

What do you do to go about creating the right design? thanks...

EagleLandscape
01-18-2009, 07:45 PM
Having a "frequently used plants book" is good.

I have this tab on my internet browser. Most plants I have from memory, and that just comes with experience. Once you get into doing alot of designs, the desire to always use new plants will fade. I stick with good looking plants, that I know will live. I'm not picking all new plants for every design, and having die on me anymore.

http://horticulture.tamu.edu/landscapeplants/search.html

Stick with what works, and make the design concept look good.

packey
01-18-2009, 11:13 PM
when designing I use plants I know for the most part. However their are times when venturing into the unknown is needed so research any new unproved plant before using it. Once you know it can be used successufly then ad it to your list

Slcareco
01-19-2009, 11:31 AM
I see, I actually have a degree in Horticulture: Landscape Development so I do have a good background of plants but nothing beats stuff on paper.

Now do you tell the client when you will have the design done? How does that work... and how long about does it take or should it take a 1/4 acre lot or so front and back, between concept, master plan, construction plans, maybe perspective??

packey
01-19-2009, 12:15 PM