PDA

View Full Version : Compost Costs

Pistol
01-20-2009, 02:33 PM
Trying to line up my sources for the spring. I found a manufacturer of certified compost (McGill). They don't sell less than 50 cubic yards direct, but they use resellers. The resellers are selling "landscape blend" for $25/cu yd. My rough calculations tell me I need about 3/4 cu yd / 1000 st ft (for 1/4" topdressing) or about $18/1000 sqft. Does all this sound right? Is this price high or OK?

I'm a newbie - just trying to learn. Thanks, Pistol

treegal1
01-20-2009, 02:50 PM
just find a place to park 50 yards for a minute or 3.. or contract one of the resale's

thats not a bad price just figure on a little more compost than you did just a little.............

DUSTYCEDAR
01-20-2009, 02:57 PM
Thats not a bad price

Pistol
01-20-2009, 03:50 PM
Thanks Tree & Dusty,
my spring plan is to:

1) clean-up / mow low (fescue lawns)
2) core aerate
3) Slit seed
4) topdress

I may add a worm poo component to my top dressing if I can find a good local supply. Anyone have a #/1000 number I should be adding to my compost topdressing? These lawns have always had synthetic fert in the past. Any downside to my plan - will the yards look like sh$T for a year?!?!?!

Thanks again, Pistol

treegal1
01-20-2009, 05:07 PM
ah your a pistol, (had to do it).

i goes like this, find out what the soil/ grass needs and then try and get compost to fill that need. if that's out of range then add ( insert need here) and get the grass plants , trees green and healthy.

we add a small amount of compost more often.

Kiril
01-20-2009, 11:21 PM
http://www.lawnsite.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=102550&d=1205082443

TF PLUS
01-21-2009, 09:45 AM