PDA

View Full Version : How to figure cost of product

fireman1173005
01-22-2009, 11:56 AM
Ok I stopped by Lesco this morning and priced some products but I need help figuring the cost/1,000 sq. ft.

See if this is right.

Product A comes in a 2.5 gallon jug. and says to add 30oz. per 100 gallons of water. (I have a 100 gallon tank) And apply at 2 Gallons of mixed product per 1,000 sq. ft.

I know that there is 320 oz. in a 2.5 gallon jug and the product cost $60 for the jug.

So first I figure out my cost per ounce. $60/320 oz. = 0.1875 cents per ounce.

I need 30 oz. per tank so that will cost me 30oz. X 0.1875 cents =$5.63 per tank.

I need to spray 2 gallons per 1,000 sq. ft. of mixed product and I have a 100 gallon tank so I can spray 50 gallons X 1,000sq. ft. = 50,000sq. ft. of spraying per tank.

But now I am lost on how to figure it out, I am new at this and need some help.

Brian

KACYDS
01-22-2009, 12:08 PM
You know it cost $5.63 per 100 gallon tank.

You also know that a 100 gallon tank, at 2 gals per 1000 sq.ft., will do 50,000 sq. ft.

Take 5.63 (cost per 100 gal tank) divide that by 50 ( tank will do 50 x 1000 sq. ft) and that gives you roughly $0.11 per 1000 sq. ft.

Hopefull that helps

Runner
01-22-2009, 01:11 PM
Then add overlap, drift, cost of purchasing the chemical(s) - transport, time, storage, etc.., Then, you have your other various supplies (anti foam, spreader sticker, etc.), fuel to run equipment. Now, this only covers your material costs...This s NOT your operating costs. Make sure you figure ALL this in so you don't cut yourself short.

Ric
01-22-2009, 01:22 PM
Brian

I believe you are making it hard on yourself. I wouldn't do the 100 gallon part. I would first find the cost per oz of the chemical. Then I would multiply it by the the label rate per thousand that you plan to use.

whereas $ 60.00 / 320 = $ 0.1875 per oz.

whereas 30 oz on 50 k = 0.6 oz per thousand.

Therefore 0.6 x 0.1875 = $ 0.1123 chemical cost per thousand.

Runner