PDA

View Full Version : I Got My Dell Lap Top And Still Need Help....


ant
03-04-2002, 08:16 PM
things work out for me from time to time...
i was talking to a family member about me getting a lap top and he said "save your money i have one that i never used and you can have it..."is that great or what! and the best part "its a DELL"
well i picked it up tonight and he explained to me that he got it a few years ago to keep records (retail sales).and it seemed not to work.
1.a message comes up and it reads"KEY BOARD FAILURE"
2. ALSO READS ENTER PASSWORD:
he does not remember ever entering a password.
my question is what can i do to get it up and running?
it is a DELL LATITUDE LX 475D
THANKS FOR ALL YOUR PAST HELP...
ANT

KirbysLawn
03-04-2002, 09:07 PM
If he included the software, just reinstall the software to the factory settings using the factory/master CD. As for the password is it in Windows or DOS. if Windows just click cancel and Windows should load.

ant
03-04-2002, 09:37 PM
thanks ray for your reply..
no software came with it...
anthony

heygrassman
03-05-2002, 04:40 PM
If you are considering selling it, I may be interested. If it has a power on password (in DOS) it is not "brand new". Those typically have to be disabled in the BIOS and can be a realllll bugger to get around.

If you are interested email me at jeff@ascapes.net. I tried to email you but you have that turned off...

jf

walker-talker
03-07-2002, 12:17 PM
I would take it to a professional and gladly pay $50/$100 for them to fix. You got it free....what the heck?

MATT

ant
03-07-2002, 06:11 PM
its a 486 33 megahertz
it may not be worth it..
ant

heygrassman
03-07-2002, 06:15 PM
ewwwwe boy... makes a nice door stop

walker-talker
03-08-2002, 10:16 AM
Originally posted by ant
its a 486 33 megahertz
it may not be worth it..
ant

Oh OK, well I don't know what to tell ya. I am sure 33mhz will not run many games, but not sure about accounting software. I am thinking that the hard drive is small and probably not large enough to hold any of the up-to-date software. I have a desktop that is 5 years old and it is 200mhz, this thing has to be older that a few years?

MATT

Brandon Wymelenberg
03-08-2002, 10:45 AM
in my professional opinion i would recomend that you have a little "anger mangement". Take the pos out to the driveway and just start pounding it with a sledge hammer. that thing is a piece and not worth it cause in a year it will prob be truely out of date. pull out any expansion cards, hdd, and ram and you might be able to sell those on line to a nerd. but take your anger out on it, anything the sledge will hit, HIT!!!. i recently did that to 6 old 386 desktops that were out of date. felt good afterwards. anger mangement also works on old pos push mowers that just arent worth it anymore.

JJOHN22042
03-10-2002, 11:47 AM
Think it was well said Door Stop. Its not work getting fixed and you will be pissed if you pay money to have it fixed then find out its just not going to work. Give it to some kids to play with..

matt35
03-10-2002, 08:27 PM
If it is a 486 33megahertz then the hard drive is to small for many clients and the memory isn't enough to do you much good. Like the man says it would make a good door stop or something to take your anger out on. Todays needs will be outdated shortly. Check the online auction's for some good buys with late upto date laptops.