PDA

View Full Version : newbie confused about going legit in Michigan

sslopok
02-10-2009, 12:52 PM
I am a teacher in Michigan and want to do about 10-12 res. lawns weekly to make some extra coin. I will be the sole owner operator. I will only be mowing and blowing.
I am really confused how to get this legit. Is it cool to just go to the county clerk and get a DBA, commercial insurance for the truck, trailer, and equipment, and liability insurance and go mow? I was hoping to just do the taxes at the end of the year. Looking to keep this as simple as possible, but do not want to get busted or something.
I looked online for LLC stuff and it seems like a pain.
Would appreciate someone clearing things up a bit for me.
I used the search and did some reading but I am still confused.

Brandon
08 SCAG Freedom Z 52" 26 horse Briggs

Grassmechanic
02-11-2009, 10:42 AM
Your on the right track. You can go register your bus. with county clerk as a DBA. Then you have to register in city or Twp where your business is located. Then get your ins. You can do your taxes at year end.

bdbwtie1
02-11-2009, 09:04 PM
not to hijack his thread or anything, but does any one know the rules as far as DOT numbers?? Considering a DBA and the vehicle in personal name under commercial insurance??

sslopok
02-11-2009, 10:02 PM
Thanks for the info! I wasn't digging the idea of the llc and other b.s.
Thanks
Brandon

Runner
02-11-2009, 10:46 PM
sslopok,