PDA

View Full Version : J & S Lawn and Landscape

J & S Lawn and Landscape
02-13-2009, 12:39 PM
Hello everyone J & S Lawn and Landscape is a partnership that includes myself Shawn, 19 and my partner Joey, 18. We just finished our first year of business and couldn't be more excited about the upcoming year. We started off with a 48" toro walk behind and a beat up old trailer and 20 residentials. Although, that is not many accounts it was tough because my partner was a senior in highschool and I was a full time college student. Our schedules always clashed but we were still able to maintain our lawns all year without one complaint. We started our business by just trying to make a little extra money instead of working a minimum wage job at like McDonalds like many of our friends did. I didn't really see the possiblilites in this business until we started getting compliments on our lawn care and then our customers wanted us to do their landscaping at their house.(We both have worked for landscape companies since we were about 13) After completing their jobs our customers spread our name by word of mouth and we started getting more and more phone calls everday for landscpaing. Then it hit me that we could make a career out of this business. During the summer we mowed an animal clinic and we had a bad tornado go down the road and just completely destroy everthing. Well, the owner called me and wanted to remove about 5 big oak trees and although I have never done tree removal before I fould this as a way to help expand our business even more so i didn't hesitate. I went that day and made sure that we were covered in our insurance for tree removal and we were so we went to work. While finishing that job we had tons of calls and people stopping over to see if we could give them estimates on their trees as well. We did enough jobs to help by some tree equipment that month and now were adding that service on full time just to see how it goes. This year we have expanded to over