PDA

View Full Version : Do salts from syntheic fertilizers really harm the soil food web?

replenish&subdue
02-18-2009, 01:41 PM
Do salts from syntheic fertilizers really harm the soil food web? I hear it from both sides. Any authority out there? Perhaps someone knows an university study.
It is not easy finding the truth of the matter often times. Here is another one I am looking into, Neem oil does it build up a resistance to insects? I heard from someone I respect that the Dept. of Agriculture was excited about this product until it was discovered it does build up a resistance to insects. I guess I could try to find how to get through to that monster of an organization to know who is saying what. And I will but since I'm new at this and I am among the tried and proven I wanted to ask you out there first.

Smallaxe
02-18-2009, 01:49 PM
A simple test will prove it to yourself - one way or another.

I prefer to believe my eyes rather than so-called experts and authorities. Find a piece of ground equal in every way and make 2 sections. small or large. Max one on synferts and the other on compost or whatever you consider organic.

A bio-assay or microscope will let you know by the end of the season. :)

Neem affects some insect more than others. The survivers pass on the genetic code for resistance.

replenish&subdue
02-18-2009, 02:53 PM