PDA

View Full Version : Landscape bids

JConner
02-21-2009, 10:51 AM
I was wondering if any of you guys could help me with bidding landscaping jobs. Do you just go out and look at the job first and then make a design something and bring that back and a price or do you give them a rough price while you are there ? i just got a call this morning i don't know what it is i will be looking at the job today between 3-5 and i will post pictures when i go out and find out what he wants. I am not very good at designing yet but i found a design software i will get if needed thanks for any help

JConner
02-21-2009, 12:13 PM
no help from anyone ?

lawn crafters
02-21-2009, 12:50 PM
ok my advice is this
first you get what is called inventory( which is what is there NOW) you alo would measure.
second you analysis the area (ask the client basically what they want) example.. i say to the client "what do you want to see when you pull up to your house?" also when analysis you find slopes and things like that.

third is a brainstorm of ideas. what you should do is pick 3-5 different options (drawings) then..

fourth form the brainstorms into a design

fifth show the client the design and see what they say( if they like it then that is the design. if they dont like it then they will make corrections) after that you redesign the original design to make a final copy.

after this you now make a plant list. this has the quanity also. then you go to a nursery and get prices. you add up the prices of plants + loam if needed + mulch +labor + a SMALL design fee ( only if you want to). then you give them a price.

if you have any questions just ask me

burge19
02-21-2009, 05:17 PM
I was kinda wondering the same thing....what design software you guys are using out there?

lawn crafters
02-21-2009, 05:28 PM
well i took a landscape design course, and i just free hand draw. howevere i use rulers and a compass and all that kind of drawing tools.
landscape designing is more of problem solving.