PDA

View Full Version : Starting a DBA in New York. Need some advice

bigmike0215
02-24-2009, 01:00 PM
I've always loved being outside and doing work when the weather was nice. So as a teacher, I started cutting lawns since we teachers don't get paid in the summer. I am finally going to make by business legit as a DBA. If anyone has done their business as a DBA, what steps did you take? My trailer is going to be registered and I am making my truck a utility vehicle, which surprisingly wasn't that much more, and I did the country clerk DBA form. After this, I am stuck. Any New Yorkers out there who can help? Thanks.

addictedtolandscaping
02-24-2009, 10:47 PM
Well Mike not only am I in NY but I am also just across the river from you. Once you get the DBA paperwork done, they should have given you the application for a sales tax number to complete and get submitted. From there, you have got to get insurance. I use the Tory Agency, they have managed to save me thousands over the years, I have gone to the point that i even have my personal policies there as well as my business policies. After that, advertising and then equipment. I do most of my business with Abele right there on Everett Rd, but have notoriously dealt with Menands True Value for years and years. I still get my trimmers etc from Frank and Tony. If you get to the point to do a logo and vehicle,trailer lettering, the sign studio in Troy is fantastic to deal with, upto and including on staff graphic artists.

If there is anything else I can answer for you and I am sure you have tons of questions shoot me an email or pm. I will try to help you any way I can.

newtostone
02-25-2009, 03:52 AM
Tomorrow ill get you the NY state web address which will walk you through every step you need, and which forms youll need as well. As well as the DOT information and insurance youll need. Just give me 24 hours for that and Ill have all the links up here for you. Any questions please feel free to ask.

ALLPro Landscaping