PDA

View Full Version : Design, Build, Maintenance start-up... NEED WISE COUNCIL

aoneill2020
02-25-2009, 02:40 PM
First time poster - My name is Andrew I live in GA. I have a degree in landscape architecture from UGA and have been in the design side for a few years. I recently began my own company promoting myself as a turn-key design, build, maintenance company.

I landed a maintenance contract with a local high school roughly an 11 acre site. The agreement is they are buying all equipment and my company is operating and overseeing the project. This is all detailed contractually.

I need help with:
- crews: what to pay, how to file (w2, 1099, etc.), workers comp. and liability. I am planning to find 2 guys 20 hours a week.
- what kind of certifications/licenses i need to sub the work/labor, contract includes chemical app. by 3rd party licensed/cert.
-I am also bidding install with an installer friend who is a GC. We are splitting the profit. If the clients write checks to my company and then I pay him what liability will I face and again what license/cert. is necessary.
-In order to offer install/maintenance do i myself need to become a GC

Moving forward, I obviously want to grow this business and recognize getting the contracts is the most difficult part, finding help and getting work done shouldn't be to difficult especially in this economy. I am currently studying both for my CTP (cert. turf pro.) and chem. app. license as well as my registration as a landscape architect.

I realize this is a big undertaking and I would appreciate any words of wisdom from those who have gone down this road.

thanks,
Andrew

Tommy Boy
02-26-2009, 08:15 AM
Go DAWGS! Grad 1982

TScapes
02-26-2009, 08:53 AM
I need help with:
- crews: what to pay, how to file (w2, 1099, etc.), workers comp. and liability. I am planning to find 2 guys 20 hours a week.
- what kind of certifications/licenses i need to sub the work/labor, contract includes chemical app. by 3rd party licensed/cert.