PDA

View Full Version : Rain Garden question?

packey
02-26-2009, 07:43 PM
I could not decide where to put this so I put it here. I have a couple of questions about building a rain garden. Let me start by saying I have never built a rain garden before but I am very well aquianted with proper landscape construction techniques for planting beds, fountains, ponds, and retaining walls. My questions are this

How close is to close when putting a rain garden buy a house?
Would it be advisable to under drain the rain garden to make sure it can handle the occasional 6+ inch rain

Our average rainfall is 47 inches per year and you can expect at least 1 -2 rains a year that will dump more than 6 inches in a 24 housr period.

Interestingly enough most guys out here know almost nothing about rain gardens.

Venturewest
02-26-2009, 09:51 PM
You guys get 47 inches a year of rainfall in Craig?????? That can't be right. It is like high desert practically isn't it. I take it you must live or work somewhere else.

As far as rain gardens go, you can probably find out more in 5 minutes googling rain gardens than I could ever hope to help you with. I just googled and there seems to be some pretty good info out there.

Good luck with it. Would be neat to make one.

packey
02-26-2009, 10:16 PM