PDA

View Full Version : Multi meters


AI Inc
03-03-2009, 04:10 PM
Whats the smallest , best ,affordable ( under $100 ) multi meter out there?

Wet_Boots
03-03-2009, 04:48 PM
I bought one at harbor freight for $2.99 last year payup

Mike Leary
03-03-2009, 05:14 PM
I bought one at harbor freight for $2.99 last year payup

I like to buy the shoddy stuff, too.

Wet_Boots
03-03-2009, 05:27 PM
I own a couple of the high-voltage-capable Triplett and Simpson VOMs, but I can get a new HF meter for the price of one of the special batteries the old ones used for ohms measuring.

Mike Leary
03-03-2009, 05:53 PM
I own a couple of the high-voltage-capable Triplett and Simpson VOMs, but I can get a new HF meter for the price of one of the special batteries the old ones used for ohms measuring.

Show a little class, Boots.

Wet_Boots
03-03-2009, 05:58 PM
Show a little class, Boots.Nothing says professional like Cen-Tech :)http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/2707/90899sr6.gif

irritation
03-03-2009, 06:06 PM
Nothing says professional like Cen-Tech

Only Kewtech for the green industry.

https://www.pat-services.co.uk/kewtech-digital-multimeter-316-185_medium.jpg

Mike Leary
03-03-2009, 06:08 PM
Nothing says professional like Cen-Tech

Is the belt holster included in the price?

Wet_Boots
03-03-2009, 06:14 PM
Is the belt holster included in the price?For the three bucks, you don't get a holster. (gotta save up for that mushroom dinner)

Mike Leary
03-03-2009, 06:27 PM
(gotta save up for that mushroom dinner)

I'll meet you there.

Wet_Boots
03-03-2009, 06:36 PM
Let me check the wine list..... http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/4813/smileydrinkwineji9.gif

Stuttering Stan
03-03-2009, 11:20 PM
IMO, all DMM are the same, just made by different manufacturers. I've had mine for years, all it says it DT830. Not even sure where I got it from. It hasn't failed me yet. Leary's Fluke looks nice because you don't have to set the range. If you know how to use one, range settings shouldn't matter.

AI Inc
03-04-2009, 08:00 AM
Stopped into sears the other day and prices seemed to range from $19.99 to $129.99

FIMCO-MEISTER
03-04-2009, 08:24 AM
Go with Greenlee. They are making a strong commitment to products for the irrigation industry. We need to show some appreciation with purchasing dollars.

AI Inc
03-04-2009, 08:32 AM
I suppose I do owe em after they sold me 2 -521,s wholesale.

DanaMac
03-04-2009, 09:17 AM
Go with Greenlee. They are making a strong commitment to products for the irrigation industry. We need to show some appreciation with purchasing dollars.

I have one GL down at the shop. Plus some Flukes and a few others. Maybe i'll round up all of them and take a photo.

bicmudpuppy
03-04-2009, 09:18 AM
I'm using the $60 Sears clamp on model. I needed a quick amp meter for the pump work when I got here last summer. I do like it. I thought the temp probe was a gimmick when I picked it up, I'm using it a lot this spring.

Waterit
03-04-2009, 09:49 AM
I have 2 mid-line Greenlees that have been in service for over 10 years.

Guess I ought to change the batteries soon.

Sprinkus
03-04-2009, 10:03 AM
I use the Greenlee DM-40 (http://www.mygreenlee.com/Products/main.shtml?greenlee_category_id=6&product_category=157&adodb_next_page=1&adodb_next_page=4&adodb_next_page=3&adodb_next_page=2&adodb_next_page=3&portalProcess_2=showGreenleeProductTemplate&upc_number=12039). Very good quality multimeter and no worries about incorrect readings like some of the cheapo multimeters will give.

Waterit
03-04-2009, 10:39 AM
I use the Greenlee DM-40 (http://www.mygreenlee.com/Products/main.shtml?greenlee_category_id=6&product_category=157&adodb_next_page=1&adodb_next_page=4&adodb_next_page=3&adodb_next_page=2&adodb_next_page=3&portalProcess_2=showGreenleeProductTemplate&upc_number=12039). Very good quality multimeter and no worries about incorrect readings like some of the cheapo multimeters will give.

Same one I have. Good unit, has stood up to some abuse.

DanaMac
03-04-2009, 11:09 AM
Here are some of mine. One of the techs still has some in his tool box at his house.

Mike Leary
03-04-2009, 12:21 PM
Here are some of mine. One of the techs still has some in his tool box at his house.

Jeez, I bet that's impressive when you show up at a troubleshooting site with all of those meters in your bandolier.

Kiril
03-04-2009, 12:38 PM
Got mine from Radio Shack, so I don't know who made it. Cost me a pretty penny too, 15 or so years ago. Also takes temp and sound readings and has a clamp around.

Wet_Boots
03-04-2009, 12:49 PM
Got mine from Radio Shack, so I don't know who made it. Cost me a pretty penny too, 15 or so years ago. Also takes temp and sound readings and has a clamp around.Ever do any 'true rms' power measurements with it?

DanaMac
03-04-2009, 12:51 PM
Jeez, I bet that's impressive when you show up at a troubleshooting site with all of those meters in your bandolier.

To be honest, we rarely use them. I use the Station Master Pro more than anything. Some of these meters I bought for lighting, some came in the van, one came from tony when I bought his stuff.

Kiril
03-04-2009, 01:05 PM
Ever do any 'true rms' power measurements with it?

Yes, but not irrigation related.

Mike Leary
03-04-2009, 02:35 PM
Ever do any 'true rms' power measurements with it?

Would I have a inverter in the mo/ho, a 'true rms' meter would be a must.

TRILAWNCARE
03-05-2009, 01:35 AM
Would I have a inverter in the mo/ho, a 'true rms' meter would be a must.

Mike, I have several used inverters if you are looking for one. I can take some pictures and let you know the wattage if your interest.

Mike Leary
03-05-2009, 09:48 AM
Mike, I have several used inverters if you are looking for one. I can take some pictures and let you know the wattage if your interest.

Are they 'true rms' inverters?

TRILAWNCARE
03-05-2009, 10:45 AM
Are they 'true rms' inverters?

They are rated at 1800 Watt true power, 3600 peak. Have four 120 VAC outlets. http://www.tripplite.com/EN/products/model.cfm?txtSeriesID=320&EID=14605&txtModelID=183

hoskm01
03-05-2009, 11:18 AM
They are rated at 1800 Watt true power, 3600 peak. Have four 120 VAC outlets. http://www.tripplite.com/EN/products/model.cfm?txtSeriesID=320&EID=14605&txtModelID=183
Mike, is the twinkie pre wired to accept an inverter? Any outlets in the walls, or anywhere stubbed for shore power and such?

Been through the RV electrical a lot with the parents rig.

Mike Leary
03-05-2009, 12:27 PM
Mike, is the twinkie pre wired to accept an inverter? Any outlets in the walls, or anywhere stubbed for shore power and such?

I think my problem would be where to put the batteries, not much room unless I pull the gen set, which is what most people do when they convert. I like the gen set, it's propane-powered.

Mike Leary
03-05-2009, 12:37 PM
They are rated at 1800 Watt true power, 3600 peak. Have four 120 VAC outlets.

Those are good looking units, I'll keep you in mind.

hoskm01
03-05-2009, 04:23 PM
I think my problem would be where to put the batteries, not much room unless I pull the gen set, which is what most people do when they convert. I like the gen set, it's propane-powered.
My Dad's propaner quit last summer. Hes spent all winter looking for just the right Diesel beast. Just put it in a couple weeks ago. No more propane fill every stop to run the AC in summer.

Flow Control
03-05-2009, 05:11 PM
Anyone use a greenlee cmt80. I just ordered one off of amazon

Mike Leary
03-05-2009, 05:13 PM
Anyone use a greenlee cmt80. I just ordered one off of amazon

I'm having some trouble reaching the link you provided.

Mike Leary
03-05-2009, 05:15 PM
Hes spent all winter looking for just the right Diesel beast.

I understand the new diesel gen-sets are as quiet as can be. :clapping:

DanaMac
03-05-2009, 05:16 PM
I'm having some trouble reaching the link you provided.

:laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh::laugh:

Flow Control
03-05-2009, 05:23 PM
http://www.greenlee.com/product/cmt-80/Start.html

There I go assuming again.

Wet_Boots
03-05-2009, 05:34 PM
What, no badgers?

hoskm01
03-05-2009, 05:35 PM
http://www.greenlee.com/product/cmt-80/Start.html

There I go assuming again.
I'd be l,ost without buttons to puch or knobs to turn.