PDA

View Full Version : Indoor Low Voltage Lighting att: James

NightLightingFX
03-04-2009, 05:16 PM
I need some help regarding installing a low voltage lighting system indoors. I am acting as a consultant in this case. I met some one at my last homeshow who is working on an indoor low voltage project. I told them my specialty is outdoor low voltage lighting and that I am not an expert in indoor low voltage lighting, but I have resources in this area. And that I would like to help them out so that I can get experience in indoor low voltage lighting.

Is there 24v indoor low voltage lighting systems - customer seems to think so? I would think a 12v indoor low voltage system is the easiest to work with. The customer wants 14 puck type fixtures with 35 W lamps, and dimable. I would assume most puck fixtures have a bi-bin lamps. Is there a puck fixture where an MR16 is used? I would assume the easiest lamp regarding being able to buy at stores etc. is the 35 W MR16. The longest homerun will be 40ft. I am assuming we would want to use an electric transformer. What is a good transformer to use in this case? Do these transformers have multi taps? I have basic engineering questions such as, do these electronic transformers have a big voltage drop with a load, In designing these indoor lighting systems what ga. wire do you use for homeruns 12ga.? 10ga.?
Thanks
~Ned

MAGLIGHTING
03-04-2009, 05:54 PM
I need some help regarding installing a low voltage lighting system indoors. I am acting as a consultant in this case. I met some one at my last homeshow who is working on an indoor low voltage project. I told them my specialty is outdoor low voltage lighting and that I am not an expert in indoor low voltage lighting, but I have resources in this area. And that I would like to help them out so that I can get experience in indoor low voltage lighting.