PDA

View Full Version : Do Newspaper inserts really work???

fastrunner
03-13-2002, 01:48 AM
hi, i am just starting out a business, been in it about two years now. I just went to my local newspaper and gave them my flier and told them to deliver 10,000 of them in the saturday paper. they said, ok, that will be $390.00 i figured, ok, thats not bad... but the question is, do you think it will work?? HOw many call should i expect over the weekend, or period. thanks. jeff

LawnLad
03-13-2002, 07:56 AM
Assuming the newspaper is hitting your target market, maybe 1%. Don't expect all the calls at once, as some people will hold onto the fliers.

On a different note, or recommendation, make sure you ask people how they heard of you, and track their responses. We use 7 primary categories to track. In each category, there may be sub categories. Like in Advertisement; a) spring flyer, b) direct mail post card, c) newspaper flyer, etc. Under Customer Referral we track the customer's name. We have some customers that will refer us to 8 or 10 people. You can then track your closing rate on sales from each of these categories. You'll find your existing customers typically have the highest closing rate, where yellow pages and flyers will have the lowest closing rate. Since you track your selling cost, now you can evaluate if it works for you since you're tracking effectiveness.

1) Advertisement - which one?
2) Customer Referral
3) Other referral (Friend, third party referral)
4) Existing Customer (Existing customer requesting a different service)
5) Yellow Pages/Phone book
6) Walk Up (Saw crew/truck)
7) Unknown

Jason Pallas
03-13-2002, 11:13 AM
I've had pretty good luck with inserts. We usually do 20-30,000 in the spring and then follow - up with weekly classified/display advertising. It seems pretty effective for us. 1%-2% response is about right to expect/ Good luck

rdln
03-13-2002, 03:52 PM