PDA

View Full Version : Question About Mulch Suppliers

CFerriter
03-10-2009, 10:03 PM
Hey Everybody,

My name is Chris and I am currently a college student in the Miami area. For a group project we were asked to find a business opportunity and develop a business plan around it. Having a few years experience in landscaping I noticed something while riding my bike around campus. The large majority of the mulching that is done here in Miami is done with bagged mulch. I'm not talking just small jobs either, the other day they were re-doing the outside of our baseball stadium and had a pallet of mulch stacked at least 8 feet high. I also had a friend who owns a very large house who had two pallets stacked in his driveway with bagged mulch (probably 6 yards). Being from New Hampshire we always used a materials yard and got our mulch in bulk piles, never used the bags. I wanted to come to you guys to ask if you had any idea why they might use such large quantities of bagged mulch (which has to be moved with a forklift if on a pallet, costs more, and would seem to me to cause more of a hassle in large quantities). I stumbled across this website while searching suppliers of mulch in Miami and thought you'd be able to help. Is there a reason why Miami would use bagged mulch (too expensive to transport large quantities)? I was also hoping you guys could tell me where the majority of mulch is supplied from (geographic region). Sorry for such a long question I'm just trying to gather all the relevant information for my project.

Thanks for reviewing this.

Chris

capetan
03-10-2009, 10:31 PM
yeah that's a good observation .......... ? why ? this is only in some areas though, i would assume its because of accessibility, it might be easier to maneuver a pallet bags than dumping a pile ( more so in busy cities) and congested areas, i dont know why bags would be more popular for larger suburban and country areas ?
good question ..............

LB1234
03-11-2009, 12:53 AM