PDA

View Full Version : Station Master Pro help

Armadillolawncare
03-14-2009, 02:59 PM
I have a customer that wants me to add a zone to their backyard. This is one of my first jobs as a licensed irrigator. I can not locate the valve boxes in the backyard where the new zone is to be installed. I purchased a Station Master Pro 24 this week and hoped I could use the chatter mode to locate the valves. Since I have never used the SM before I may be doing something wrong or maybe I misunderstood what the chatter mode is. I attached the clips to the common and the red wire for the valve I wanted to locate. After putting the SM in solenoid Activate mode I moved the switch to chatter. I expected to be able to walk to the area I suspect the valve should be and listen for the valve to chatter. I did not hear anything. I then did the same procedure with a valve that I knew the location of and again heard nothing, even with the valve cover off and standing right over it. Am I doing something wrong? Did I misunderstand what the chatter mode is? Thanks for the help. The valves are Hunter and the controller is Toro.

Wet_Boots
03-14-2009, 03:04 PM
Are you removing the zone wire from the controller, connecting the Station Master in its place, and feeding the zone through the Station Master?

Armadillolawncare
03-14-2009, 03:12 PM
No I was following the instructions that came with the unit which say to connect the clips directly to the wires. Is that incorrect?

Wet_Boots
03-14-2009, 03:22 PM
Maybe link the instructions - I only use a 521-type of locater.

Mike Leary
03-14-2009, 03:27 PM
Pull the wires from the clock; you'll be lucky to find the valves unless you know the approximate location as the buzzer is pretty quiet. A 521 is excellent unless the solenoid is fried.

Wet_Boots
03-14-2009, 03:33 PM