PDA

View Full Version : Im new to Landscaping or Mow&Go and need some advice.

boostnm3
03-14-2009, 11:51 PM
Ok im wanting to start a little side business to do a few lawns every saturday to help pay off the new gravely zero turn i bought. Im not looking at making a full time business out of this. I bought the zero turn mainly for my lawn which is about 1.75 acres. I basically would like to do a few lawns on saturdays only since i work full time during the week so i can help pay off my mower. Its a 50" with 25hp v twin. As i said i am new to this and dont know really what prices to charge. I have a straight shaft trimmer as well as push mower if needed but dont have a blower. I live in the Piedmont area of North Carolina. I dont want to go out and underbid anyone either as i know that wont help anyone out. Thats why i came on here to ask and see if someone that knew my area could help. Im planning on advertising on local papers or some websites. My main goal here is to pay off or at least make the payment on my mower. Can someone shed some light for me please. Im not sure what a going rate for a acre would be. Also if you go to 2 acres would the price drop slightly? Thanks for any help.....

tyler_mott85
03-15-2009, 12:33 AM
OK, in short, here's what I would do.

1.) Ask any friends or family how much they pay to have their yard's cut. You may be able to "match" the price they get now and get in the door on a few that way.
Friends are always the easiest way to get work, anyway, but they will always want special deals so be prepared!

2.) Ask several companies to come out and give you a price on mowing your yard. This will give you an idea on what to charge for your own size lawn. Just don't tell them why you're having them bid and make sure you're polite but just politely say no thanks if they call back. Most companies don't like to just be jerked around but just consider it "market research".