PDA

View Full Version : New Grass Seeding Pricing Help

ktfinch2000
03-15-2009, 08:50 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have a customer wanting their back yard reseeded. I have done this before for myself but this is my first time doing it for a customer. They have 2000sq ft that needs tilling and I'm going to spread 14 yards of loam on top for a 2" base, lime,fertilize, and reseed. Just wondering what some of you might charge for a job like this. I will be doing it myself with a helper. I can get the loam delivered within 15 feet of where it needs to be spread and I will be spreading with wheel barrel. Yard is very flat with easy access. Any thoughts on a rough price would be very helpful. I figured around 1400 completed with materials included 2 days at the most to complete. Is that to high or to low? Thanks in advance.

foreplease
03-15-2009, 10:30 AM
Looks like about $420 in materials cost to me, leaving $980 for labor and any equipment charges. Undoubtedly it is a lot of work but I think at that price you are going to get the "What if we sod?' question.

There is going to be a lot of aftercare in this thing to bring it in right. If you are including that and present is as such (a guaranteed finished yard) you can probably sell it and will have earned it.

I would add some type of mulch over the newly seeded area. What kind of soil is there now? You know for sure that lime is needed? You have to be careful using lime and some fertilizers within a couple weeks of each other.

ktfinch2000
03-15-2009, 05:16 PM