PDA

View Full Version : new lawn service need advice on getting work

Field King
03-15-2009, 05:37 PM
I am new to the lawn care business, I bought a used 48' Ferris walk behind, I have weed eater and blower, I am looking for a trailer, I passed out 250 flyers that I made at home and got my 1st job the same day, a weekly mow and trim job, I would like tips on how other lawn care services get they're name out there and get calls?

LBLC_LCO
03-15-2009, 05:50 PM
Get licensed and insured. Then talk to friends, family, neighbors, pass out waaay more than 250 fliers, have some business cards made up, yard signs, truck signs, trailer signs etc etc...

And last but not least, use the search button....

ambersLawnmowing
03-15-2009, 05:59 PM
Yep, insurance, Lic. ect. is where you should be looking now. You might also want to try the local paper, Craigslist, Parade's, and just keep handing out flyers, business cards, ect. Best of luck to ya.

Field King
03-15-2009, 06:04 PM
Thank you, and keep the tips coming, I sealcoated driveways years ago and I discovered if I passed out about 1000 flyers my call rate was about 2%, I would get about 20 calls per thousand, I would also get almost 100% of those jobs I bid. I hope lawn care goes the same as I will be hammering the flyers this week!

ambersLawnmowing
03-15-2009, 06:23 PM
WOW, 20calls per thousand. I gave up on flyers last year. passed out 7-8000 of them and got 1 call from them... Now it is trade shows and local paper for me.

LBLC_LCO
03-15-2009, 07:27 PM
If your getting 100% of the jobs you bid, you may be bidding way to low.

Field King
03-15-2009, 07:38 PM