PDA

View Full Version : Protocol for seeking accounts from bigger companies

Pitbullawns
03-19-2009, 01:19 AM
There are a few landscaping companies in my town. Two of them are a lot "fancier" than I want to be, offering "landscape design" construction, stone work, etc. I am just starting out and more on the weekly mowing, yard clean-up, mulching, bed care, etc. level.
Is it acceptable to contact these companies and ask if they have any smaller accounts they are no longer interested in handling? Has anyone ever done this and has it worked for you?

MikeKle
03-19-2009, 01:37 AM
I have thought about trying that in the past, I did get a few clients from a bigger company but it was thru a friend of mine that knew the owner of the big company and he called me and gave me some clients that he didnt want, I found out why because they had fenced yards with small gates. but I talked to the homeowners and ended up making deals with 2 of them to install larger gates for free if they bought the supplies. the other one didnt want to change his gate, and he went with some kid to cut his. I dont think it would hurt to try calling some companies for this purpose but they may already have a deal set up with someone else for this, also some may want money or a % of the price you charge for the referral, because ultimately the client will think you are somehow affliated with the company they originally called, and if your quality standards are not the same as theirs, they may complain to the larger company.

CGlisson
03-19-2009, 01:44 AM
Good question!

First of all, where in CNY are you?