PDA

View Full Version : Spraying Roundup on Bermuda

djfanintn
03-19-2009, 09:58 PM
We took on one heck of chore late last spring. We disc and tilled and leveled five acres and reseeded in Bermuda. It was a new house and the five acres was a corn field years ago. It was far from being level and it was full of weeds.

Have you ever dragged a hose over 5 acres? It about killed me and I was really glad we had a well to draw from. The lawn turned out really nice.

But as fate would have it, the onions have showed up in force along with some clover and just a little crab grass. So I need to spray. I am thinking going ahead and hitting it with Roundup since from I can tell the Bermuda is still dormant. Everything I have read says that you need about 16 ounces per gallon. Does that sound right?

Is there anything else I should add like 2-4-D? I've never used that before some I am clueless.

Oh and we live in the west Tennessee area.

Thanks for your help!

JB1
03-19-2009, 10:10 PM
get a label of whatever you want to use and READ it.

LawnNeedz
03-19-2009, 10:51 PM
DO NOT USE ROUND UP!!! Just because you can not see that grass greening, does not mean that there is not growth. If you spray with round up you will damage, if not kill, the existing turf. Use a 2, 4-d with ester for the onions and clover, and put out dimension for the crabgrass control.

clallen03
03-19-2009, 11:29 PM
You really should read the label on the product you are using becasue 16ozs per gallon of anything sounds like too much. I wouldn't recommend round up because you may be greening under that dormant bermuda.

I have seeded serveral lawn with bermuda and from my experience it takes at least 2 full years before you start seeing a decent stand of turf. This is also after several loads of sand and a good fert program (very expensive).

Oh yeah, you shouldn't be seeing any crabgrass if you are still seeing dormant bermuda.

Im sorry but this entire post just sound a little strange. I hope I could help.