PDA

View Full Version : Dump Truck needed?

Jeffservices
03-22-2009, 10:58 PM
I have been in business for 6 years, I started when I was 16 with a 48 inch walk behind and 15 customers. I graduated from a '88 Ford Ranger to a F250 PSD. I do about 55-65 lawns per week, half of which I bag collect and take away. I do about 100-120 yards of mulch per year. I also do a bit of JUST delivering of mulch. I am looking at an F450 PSD with a 12 ft landscape dump body, $30,000. Do you think this purchase is justifiable? Or do you think I just want new equipment? At this time I use my 6x12 aluminum landscape trailer with 3ft sides and shovel all mulch off. I can normally haul 6 - 7 yds without exceeding the sides. I can add another 2.5 in the bed of the truck if I really want to, but since they load with a 6 yard bucket, I normally lose out of about an 1/8 of the mulch that goes behind my tailgate.

DuallyVette
03-22-2009, 11:01 PM
Only you know the answer.

mkwl
03-23-2009, 12:07 AM
How about a dump trailer? Or a dump insert for your truck?

White Gardens
03-23-2009, 12:31 AM
I have been in business for 6 years, I started when I was 16 with a 48 inch walk behind and 15 customers. I graduated from a '88 Ford Ranger to a F250 PSD. I do about 55-65 lawns per week, half of which I bag collect and take away. I do about 100-120 yards of mulch per year. I also do a bit of JUST delivering of mulch. I am looking at an F450 PSD with a 12 ft landscape dump body, $30,000. Do you think this purchase is justifiable? Or do you think I just want new equipment? At this time I use my 6x12 aluminum landscape trailer with 3ft sides and shovel all mulch off. I can normally haul 6 - 7 yds without exceeding the sides. I can add another 2.5 in the bed of the truck if I really want to, but since they load with a 6 yard bucket, I normally lose out of about an 1/8 of the mulch that goes behind my tailgate.