PDA

View Full Version : Need a new walk behind.

mdawson
03-23-2009, 11:33 AM
Hello all, newb here!

I am ready to replace my current mower. It is a ~17 year old Honda commercial 21" that was given to me by my father in law. It works great when I only have to cut dry grass that is no more than about 4" tall, but my schedule doesn't allow that. I am a busy guy, father of 2, full time worker plus a side job. My last two attempts to mow the lawn took 3 hours each (and the yard is only 1/3 acre!).

So, what am I looking for? Well, a 32-36 inch gear driven or hydro would be nice! I worked in the industry for a short time and got to use some Lesco mowers. They were nice machines and I have wanted something like that for personal use ever since. Last year the Cub Cadet CC760 at Home Depot caught my eye. And it still has my attention. The price is good, but I am unsure about how I will like the controls after using the Lesco models. So that made me start looking at the more traditional names (Exmark, JD, Scag, Toro, etc), but the prices are a little high for just a personal mower right now. Then I saw the Better Outdoor stuff mentioned on here and that has me thinking I could possibly swing the extra money if it is worth it. So this is where I turn to you, the pros. For a personal mower, cutting 1/3 acre is the Cub Cadet fine for my needs or should I really consider the BOP Quick series? I live near Charlotte, NC so I am not far from BOP headquarters in Winston Salem (I wonder if I could save on shipping and pick it up?).

Thanks in advance!

ALC-GregH
03-23-2009, 11:37 AM
I'm sure you can go direct and get it to save shipping. BOP makes a nice mower. I never used one but I read all the time that they cut great. They are a tad more compact then other commercial brands.

mdawson
03-23-2009, 12:58 PM