PDA

View Full Version : 2nd Year & Nervous

dbackland08
03-23-2009, 09:10 PM
How's everyone doing? I purchased my landscaping business last year down in Cape May County New Jersey. I am also a pharmacist that works full time. In the deal I got a Ford F150, open trailer, large stand on Scag, walk behind 30" Scag, couple of Honda Mowers, weed whackers, blowers, and all the needed hand tools to start. I had around 60 customers last year, after all bills paid and what not, I think I had a good first year. Better than my 401k that I am in. I didn't do any advertising, just business cards, door hangers and word of mouth. Just sent out my letters to about 55 customers. In 7 days I have gotten 14 back, 2 need spring clean-up. I also have got a sprinkler job estimate coming up for maybe $4000. In the past few weeks all I have been doing is reading books about business, websites about lawncare business (that's how I found this site). I think I may have dropped the ball last year regarding the advertising. I'm nervous with the economy. Also, I live in an area that has a lot of summer houses, so I guess they will still need the work done. What do you think. Should I be worried?

J & D Greens
03-23-2009, 10:21 PM
Welcome to the site, I understand your worries and share concerns we all have about the way things are. I also feel that things will correct themselves in due time. I work full time in the grocery bus. and do lawns solo for the time being. You defiantly have the right equipment and a good customer base too. I sent may letters out around the third week of February. All but two have responded. And I will give them a call within a couple of weeks. Good luck this season. David

DLAWNS
03-24-2009, 01:31 AM
Welcome. Another Jersey guy..hell yeah. Just keep up the hard work and read as much as you can on this site. There is so much great info on here.

Brian James
03-25-2009, 10:12 AM